Day 23

06/09/2013 09:56

Being around a strong believer in the GOP for the last few days with someone that should have a pretty good vocabulary and skill set to express what they think about the Democrats I have come to realize that there is something that is weird going on to me.  Their complete argument with me is that the President is liar.  I never got them to tell me on thing that the President has lied about he just is a liar.  I was also not allowed to finish anything I would start to say.  Just interrupted with stories about how he was sleeping while Benghazi was going on and how they were going to move out of this country because the people that want something for nothing voted for the President.  When asked rather then how horrible that the President is what the GOP has done to make their party more attractive to the voters there was no response.  This to me is part of why the GOP is not going to change their thinking.  The people that make up the GOP think that they are right and nothing we have done to make changes in our government has made any difference.  When asked why the economy is getting better the response is nothing that the President has done is responsible for that.  I am sure that if a Republican were in charge then that recovery would be all owned by what the Republicans have done.  He wanted to see the government deregulate everything for business and get out of the way.  I can only respond by saying that the lack of regulation is what caused the economy to crash in the first place.  The out of control bankers that were allowed to give out loans to people that can not afford the home that they were buying because they did not do a good enough search on their income is because they were not  given any limits by the  government.  They in fact had been almost invited by the lack of regulation to do the opposite.  My feeling on all of this is that when people cannot make a real and backed up with facts argument they resort to name calling and generalizations that any one could make about a one.  I have a feeling that they have been listening to Rush because of the rhetoric they were using.  Hate filled I am leaving the country because I cannot get my way sort of behavior with complete disrespect and contempt for the President.  I also saw a side of the prejudice that is given in the GOP a black eye by the voters.  They said that Treyvon Martin was a hood and that the man that killed him had every right to follow and kill him in self defense.  In other words Treyvon was guilty of being black.  They were saying that what they were supposed to do wait for Treyvon to rape someone.  This young black man was walking home from the local quick stop store with candy and a drink.  If that man would have never left his truck and followed the directions of the 911 operator this young man that did not have a weapon would be alive today.  Claiming that Treyvon had jumped him.  Where is Treyvon’s right to stand his ground?  Protect himself?  When does it become a violation of his rights to protect himself?  The person that is dead may not have been a perfect angel as most of us were not perfect at that age.  What had he done to warrant the behavior of the man that killed him?  Walking down the street (no matter what the time of day) is not a crime.  This man did not know if Treyvon was the class fool or valedictorian.  So what is left is that he was walking around being black and that is now being put to the level of a crime.  I thought that those kinds of days may have gone but seem to be alive and well in Florida.  I feel that I have no way of trying to convince them that a lot of what they are thinking is wrong and it makes me sad to think that people cannot be given the respect that any human life should have.  It also makes me sad that base arguments with no factual back up for them have no content that I could respect.